If you add a community post to a post on X (formerly Twitter), X will tell you if the person who wrote the post deletes it, the company said Friday.
“Contributors consistently say their goal is to keep others well informed,” X wrote on the Community Notes account. “This can happen when a useful comment appears on a message, but also when an erroneous message is deleted. Starting today, writers will be notified when a post they wrote a note on is deleted.”
The idea here seems to be to give people the ability to add Community Notes another tool to hold other users accountable. On the one hand, I think this could be very useful; Writing about deleted messages is an important aspect of my work. But on the other hand, given the generally bad atmosphere on
This new Community Notes feature is the second that X has added this week. On Tuesday, X announced that people are rating a note will see more note suggestions so they can ‘consider other comments before submitting their review’. X owner Elon Musk is a big supporter for community notesand the feature has received a number of notable updates, including expansions for images and videos, since he took over the company.